UPDATE 2-Delta passengers frustrated, resigned over huge delays

lunes 8 de agosto de 2016 16:45 GYT

(Adds details from Atlanta's main airport)

By Joseph Ax

NEWARK, N.J. Aug 8 (Reuters) - Nyasha Arthur was meant to be at work in Atlanta on Monday. Instead, she found herself stuck at New Jersey's Newark airport with hundreds of other frustrated passengers after Delta Air Lines Inc computer systems were hit by a power outage.

"This is ridiculous," said the 39-year-old AT&T employee, who had to use a vacation day after being stranded at Newark Liberty International Airport.

"I don't understand what is going on here. It's just a mess," she said as she stood in a long queue at Delta's check-in counter.

The power outage struck Delta's computers around 2:30 a.m. EDT (0630 GMT), forcing the cancellation of about 365 flights. The airline said flights began taking off again at about 8:40 a.m. EDT (1240 GMT).

Arthur complained about a lack of agents at the counter, where only three of more than a dozen desks were open. She flies between Atlanta and Newark a few times a year, and said she might have to reconsider her next visit after Monday's delays.

Many travelers vented their anger on social media, making #Delta a top trending topic. Delta used its Twitter account to reply directly to many of those who complained.

After one traveler thanked the airline for helping him and his family get home, Delta tweeted that his message was greatly appreciated. "It's been a brutal start this morning," it added.   Continuación...